Historic Designation Advisory Board

People Preserving Places

The Historic Designation Advisory Board (HDAB) advises City Council on all matters regarding historic preservation to protect the historic, cultural, architectural, and archaeological resources that make Detroit unique. HDAB promotes preservation through the creation of local historic districts and design guideline ordinances and also serves as a general resource to the community. 

The Historic Designation Advisory Board has nine members, who are residents of Detroit, and two ex officio members as represented by the Director of the City Planning Commission and the Director of the Planning and Development Department. Two ad hoc members are appointed by City Council in conjunction with studies of particular proposed historic districts. 


Board Members

  • Calvin Jackson, Chair
  • Melanie A. Bazil, Vice Chair
  • Theresa Holder-Hagood, Secretary 
  • Dr. Carolyn Carter
  • Louis J. Fisher
  • Eric Hergenreder
  • Osvaldo Rivera
  • Sharon Sexton
  • William Worden



The regular meetings of the Historic Designation Advisory Board are usually held on the second Thursday of the month, except where noted.  The exclusion, no meetings are planned for the month of August and December.  The meetings are held; pursuant to the Michigan Open Meetings Act; and begin at 4:00 pm.  The dates for the meetings in 2024 are:

          January 11                              July 11

          February 8                            *August - No meeting

          March 14                               September 12

          April 11 - cancelled              October 10

          May 9 - rescheduled          November 14

          May 2                                     *December - No meeting

          June 13                                   


To watch and/or participate in the Historic Designation Advisory Board meeting, click the link below:


Join on your computer, mobile app or room device

Click here to join the meeting

Meeting ID: 243 806 116 30
Passcode: 4DTzCC

Download Teams | Join on the web

Or call in (audio only)

+1 469-998-6602,,434432968#   United States, Dallas

Phone Conference ID: 434 432 968#



View the agenda under Events below for a copy of the agenda. Materials from past HDAB meetings available upon request.

City Council President
City Council Pro Tem
district map

This map shows all locally designated historic districts in Detroit. You can search by address to determine if a property falls within a local historic district boundary.