Board of Zoning Appeals

The Board of Zoning Appeals consists of not fewer than five (5) members and not more than nine (9) members appointed by the City Council for overlapping terms of three (3) years each. The City Council shall appoint a Director of the Board who shall serve for a term of six (6) years. Any vacancies on the Board shall be filled by the Council for the remainder of the unexpired term. The members or Directory may be removed for cause be the City Council only after hearing and consideration of written charges. The members and Director shall be residents of the City of Detroit, and not members of any other City agency, board, department, or commission of City Government, except one (1) member shall be a member of the City Planning Commission, as required by MCL 125.3601(3). Compensation of members of the Board may be paid at a reasonable per diem rate and members reimburse for expenses actually incurred in the discharge of their duties, as provided in Sec. 601(7) of the Michigan Zoning Enabling Act. MCL 125.3601(7). Compensation of members of the Board and of the Director shall be fixed by Council. The Director shall employ an assistant and other staff.

The Appeal Will therefore fall into one of several categories:

  1. A specific interpretation of the provisions of the zoning ordinance.
  2.  An adjustment or a variance from the strict application of the provisions of the zoning ordinance.
  3.  A decision on such matters which it is authorized to review by the city zoning ordinance.
  4.  Jurisdiction over all non-conforming buildings and uses.


The Board of Zoning Appeals hears and decides from, and reviews any order, requirement, decision or determination made by an administration official with the enforcement of the Zoning Ordinance.

They are also charged with accepting appeals from decision made by the Buildings and Safety Engineering Department after a hearing has been held before the Buildings and Safety Engineering Department’s Hearing Officer.

The Board of Zoning Appeals will be meeting virtually using videoconferencing.
You can view the meeting in the following manner:
To attend online use:
Meeting ID: 927361025


The City Council's Appointed Seven Board Members are: 


Board Members
Term Beginning        
 Council District 
Term Ending 
Robert G. Weed March, 2013 District 1 December, 2021
Vivian Teague January, 2017 District 2 December, 2019
Elois Moore January, 2017 District 3 December, 2019
Jacqueline Grant January, 2018 District 4 December, 2020
Robert E. Thomas March, 2013 District 5 December, 2021
Emmanuel Calzada   February, 2016 District 6 December, 2021
Kwame Finn January, 2018 District 7 December, 2020
City Council President
City Council Pro Tem