
   D E T R O I T  P O L I C E  D E PA R T M E N T
M A N U A L  

2025 Page 1 of 11 

 

Series  
200 Operations 

Effective Date 
TBD 

Review Date 
Three Years 

Directive Number 
 

203.5 Chapter  
203 - Criminal Investigations 

Reviewing Office 
Investigation Operations 

 
 New Directive 
 Revised 

Revisions in italics 

 

References 
MLEAC 4.4.1 Juvenile Delinquency 

JUVENILES AND SCHOOL INCIDENTS 

203.5 - 1 PURPOSE 
To establish procedures for the interview, custody, detention and release of juveniles. 

203.5-2         POLICY 
It is the policy of the Detroit Police Department to have a vast range of alternatives when 
interacting with juvenile offenders. Whenever feasible, members must utilize the least 
coercive amongst these alternatives, which include, but are not limited to, the following: 

 Outright release to a parent, legal guardian, or other responsible adult with no 
further action 

 Referral to juvenile court 

 Lodging at the Juvenile Detention Facility 
 

203.5-3         PROCEDURES 
Juvenile offenders are afforded the same constitutional rights as an adult. As such, 
members are responsible for protecting these rights as provided by the department 
procedures. 

203.5-4 Definition 
A. Juvenile- According to Michigan Law, is any person under 18 years of age. 

[MLEAC 4.4.1 a] 
B. Child Victims of Abuse and Neglect – A child that comes into contact with law 

enforcement officials or the juvenile justice system because of actions or inactions 
taken against them by another adult or juvenile. They are involved in the system 
because of their need for protection and they are classified as non-offenders. It 
should be noted that under the Child Protection Law a “Child” means a person 
under 18 years of age. MCL 722.622 Sec. 2(e). 

C. Status Offense – Is any violation of Michigan or local law which is specifically 
applicable only to juveniles and would not be a crime if committed by an adult. 
Examples include, but are not limited to: Curfew Violations; Runaways; and 
Truants. 
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203.5-5      Legal Authority 
Authority for taking a juvenile offender into custody is provided by MCL712A.14, which 
gives law enforcement members authority to take into custody a juvenile who is found 
violating the law. 
 

203.5-5.1             Specified Juvenile Violations  
The specified juvenile violations, as enumerated in MCL 712A.2(a)(1)(A)-(I), MCL 

600.606(2)(a)-(i), MCL 764.1f(2)(a)-(i), and MCR 6.903(H)(1)-(19), are as follows:  

  

 First-degree arson, MCL 750.72;  

 Assault with intent to commit murder, MCL 750.83;  

 Assault with intent to maim, MCL 750.86;  

 Assault with intent to rob while armed, MCL 750.89;  

 Attempted murder, MCL 750.91;  

 First-degree murder, MCL 750.316;  

 Second-degree murder, MCL 750.317;  

 Kidnapping, MCL 750.349;  

 First-degree criminal sexual conduct, MCL 750.520b;  

 Armed robbery, MCL 750.529;  

 Carjacking, MCL 750.529a;  

 Robbery of a bank, safe, or vault, MCL 750.531;  

 Assault with intent to do great bodily harm or assault by strangulation or 

suffocation, MCL 750.84, if armed with a dangerous weapon;  

 First-degree home invasion, MCL 750.110a(2); if armed with a 

dangerous weapon;  

 Escape or attempted escape from a medium- or high-security facility 

operated by the Department of Human Services (DHS) or a county 

juvenile agency, or from a high-security facility operated by a private 

agency under contract with the DHS or a county juvenile agency, MCL 

750.186a;  

 Possession of a controlled substance classified in schedule 1 or 2 that 
is a narcotic drug or a drug described in section 7214(a)(iv) [of MCL], 
and that is an amount of 1,000 grams or more of any mixture containing 
that substance, MCL 333.7403(2)(a)(i);  

 An attempt, MCL 750.92, to commit any of the above crimes;  

 Conspiracy, MCL 750.157a, to commit any of the above crimes;  

 Solicitation, MCL 750.157b, to commit any of the above crimes;  

 Any lesser-included offense of a specified juvenile violation, if the 

juvenile is charged with a specified juvenile violation; and  
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 Any other offense arising out of the same transaction as a specified 
juvenile violation, if the juvenile is charged with a specified juvenile 
violation. 

 

203.5-6    Detention of Juveniles 
Members may take a juvenile into custody without a court order where the juvenile is 
found to be violating any law or ordinance, or where the child is found in surroundings, 
which endanger the juvenile’s health or welfare.  

When a juvenile is taken into custody, the officer shall immediately attempt to notify the 
parent, guardian, or custodian of the juvenile. In addition, juveniles shall not be detained, 
transported, or incarcerated with persons 18 years of age or older. Juveniles will not be 
held in any detention facility unless the juvenile is completely isolated to prevent verbal, 
visual, or physical contact with any adult prisoner. When a juvenile is taken into custody, 
an incident report shall be prepared detailing the reason for detention. [MLEAC 4.4.1 b] 

If a parent or legal guardian appears on the scene of a juvenile detention and expresses a 
desire to accompany the juvenile and the law enforcement members to the precinct, the 
request shall be given every consideration when circumstances permit. However, the 
extension of this courtesy shall be governed by the facts of the immediate situation.  

Juveniles in the company of an adult who has been arrested, may be released at the 
scene provided the juveniles are not involved in any criminality, are not wanted on other 
charges, would not be in violation of a curfew ordinance if released, and are within 
reasonable proximity of their home. Otherwise, the juveniles shall be conveyed home or to 
the precinct where notification of a parent or legal guardian will be made to provide a 
proper escort for the juvenile.  

Juveniles shall not be detained in custody in excess of six (6) hours. It shall be the 
responsibility of the officer in charge of the precinct station desk to ensure compliance. 
[MLEAC 4.4.1 i] 

203.5-6.1      Release of Juveniles Detained [MLEAC 4.4.1 h] 
In the event the situation warrants the release of the juvenile, the officer in charge of the 
precinct desk will be responsible for ensuring that the Wayne County Youth Home has 
been notified and that there are no outstanding court orders pending for the juvenile. 
However, if unusual circumstances exist, as determined by the officer in charge of the 
precinct desk, juveniles detained for misdemeanor offenses or ordinance violations may 
be released to a parent or legal guardian prior to obtaining a clearance. 

The parent, legal guardian, or custodian, shall be advised that a driver’s license or two (2) 
other pieces of identification will be required to properly identify the individual. If this 
identification is unavailable, an adult licensed driver shall verify the identity of the parent, 



 D E T R O I T  P O L I C E  D E PA R T M E N T  
M A N U A L  

203.5 Juveniles and School Incidents  
 

2025 
Page 4 of 11 

legal guardian, or custodian. An appropriate entry shall be recorded in the precinct desk 
blotter.  

At all times upon a detention of a juvenile, the supervisor shall make an appropriate entry 
in the precinct desk blotter.  

When a parent, legal guardian, or custodian, cannot be contacted to take custody of the 
juvenile within two (2) hours, the officer in charge of the precinct desk shall be responsible 
for notifying Child Abuse and be guided by their advice. 

203.5-7      Notification of Parent or Guardian [MLEAC 4.4.1 g] 
Whenever a juvenile is detained or taken into protective custody, it shall be the 
responsibility of the officer in charge of the precinct desk to ensure that the parent or legal 
guardian is immediately notified.  

When a juvenile is to be sent to a detention facility for admission, it shall be the 
responsibility of the admissions officer at the youth home to notify the parent or legal 
guardian of the admission and preliminary hearing. 

203.5-8      Fingerprinting an Photographing [MLEAC 4.4.1 c] 
As an aid in arriving at an identification, all juveniles ten (10) years of age and older, 
detained for a juvenile offense - other than a juvenile offense for which the maximum 
possible penalty does not exceed 92 days imprisonment, or a fine of $1,000, or both - shall 
be processed through Live Scan. (Refer to MCL 28.243.) Effective on Platoon One, 
October 21, 2022, all juveniles seventeen (17) years of age or younger, who are detained 
for a felony or a misdemeanor violation of state law where the maximum possible penalty 
exceeds 92 days imprisonment, shall be fingerprinted via live scan and have their DNA 
collected. This process will be conducted in the lobby of the Detroit Detention Center 
(DDC). Upon detaining a juvenile for the above described offenses, the juvenile shall 
immediately be transported to the DDC for live scan and DNA collection. The process is as 
follows: 

 An Arrest Report shall be immediately completed and submitted in MOBLAN.  

 The conveying scout will contact the DDC staff on DPD03 ZONE D, notifying DDC 
staff of the incoming juvenile. The conveying scout will verify that the front lobby 
and intake area are clear of any citizen(s) or adult detainee(s) prior to the juvenile’s 
entrance to the DDC. The juvenile shall have no contact with adult detainees, and 
must be kept out of sight and sound of any adult detainee at all times. 

 One member will enter the DDC and provide the probable cause statement to the 
officer in charge (OIC) of the DDC desk, who will confirm whether or not probable 
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cause exists to detain the juvenile. If the detaining unit is a one person unit, the 
probable cause statement will be offered upon entry to the DDC. 

 The detained juvenile shall remain handcuffed to the rear and escorted into the 
front entrance doors of Building 100 of the DDC. DO NOT ENTER THE 
SALLYPORT WITH ANY JUVENILE. 

 The conveying officer shall complete a custodial search inside the DDC lobby prior 
to the removal of the handcuffs for processing. 

 At no time shall the juvenile be left unattended while at the DDC. The conveying 
member(s) are responsible for remaining with the juvenile at all times. 

 Once processing is complete, conveying members can transport the juvenile back 
to their command for additional paperwork and notifications to parents and Wayne 
County Youth Home (WCYH). Before exiting the DDC, members must ensure the 
lobby is clear of any citizen(s) and the juvenile has no contact with any adult 
detainee(s). 

 Detaining members are still responsible for completion of the required Incident 
Report and JC-01/JC-02, if being admitted to the WCYH. If the juvenile is not being 
admitted to the WCYH, he/she will be released to a parent or guardian from the 
detaining members command. 

 

Once the juvenile is processed through Live Scan, their information is sent directly to the 
Wayne County Youth Home. 

203.5-9       Youth Home [MLEAC 4.4.1] 
203.5-9.1 Admission to a Detention Facility 
In order to admit a juvenile, age seventeen (17) or under, to the Wayne County Youth 
Home, Detroit Receiving Hospital, Children’s Hospital, or any other detention facility, the 
Wayne County Youth Home intake officer must be notified. The intake officer will advise 
the inquiring officer of the proper facility.  

A JC-01 (“Complaint – Request For Action, Delinquency Proceedings”) and Witness List 
(“Confidential Identification of Complainant and Witnesses” - MJC-02A) must be prepared 
and submitted upon admission. It is the responsibility of the member detaining the juvenile 
to provide ALL investigative documents to the Wayne County Prosecutor’s Office Juvenile 
Division. This shall include all investigative work completed (e.g.; witness statements, 
canvass results, video, and line-ups). [MLEAC 4.4.1] 
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Generally, the detaining member shall prepare the complaint form for petition; the 

officer in charge of the precinct desk shall ensure the form is prepared and all 

appropriate spaces are completed.  

203.5-9.2  Temporary Release 
Any member desiring the temporary release of a juvenile from the Wayne County 

Youth Home for appearance in any court as a witness or defendant must present a 

subpoena or writ to the Wayne County Youth Home before the juvenile will be 

released. The officer to whom the juvenile is released is responsible for returning the 

juvenile to the Wayne County Youth Home immediately after the court appearance 

or for notifying the Wayne County Youth Home if the juvenile is not being promptly 

returned for any reason. A writ is required when a juvenile is waived and must 

appear in court, which the officer will obtain from the court requesting the writ.  

203.5-9.3  Taken into Protective Custody 
In the event a juvenile is merely taken into protective custody, the juvenile shall be 

released only to a parent, legal guardian, or custodian, except under unusual 

circumstances. When a parent, legal guardian, or custodian is not available, the 

juvenile may be released to an adult brother, sister, or close relative. The person to 

whom the juvenile is released shall be required to produce identification and an 

appropriate entry shall be made in the precinct desk blotter.  

203.5-10 Interviewing Juveniles [MLEAC 4.4.1] 
A member wishing to interview and question a juvenile with respect to the juvenile’s part in 
the commission of a crime should, if feasible, do so in the presence of their parent or legal 
guardian. The juvenile’s parent or legal guardian must be advised by the interviewing 
officer regarding the juvenile’s constitutional protections. If a juvenile’s parent or legal 
guardian is present, members must ensure that all parties clearly and unmistakably 
understand the procedures, and the parent’s and juvenile’s signatures must be affixed to 
the Constitutional Rights Certificate of Notification (DPD342B).   

A court will examine the “totality” of the circumstances, e.g., juvenile’s age, educational 
background, mental capacity, prior experience in the criminal, etc., in determining whether 
the admission or confession was/is admissible in the absence of the presence of a parent 
of legal guardian. Members must be mindful that Miranda is applicable to juveniles.  

If the juvenile, the juvenile’s parent, or legal guardian, indicate in any manner that the 

juvenile wishes to remain silent, questioning must cease. However, questioning may 

be conducted with the permission of the juvenile’s attorney whether or not the parent 

or legal guardian is present.  
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Members may also interview juveniles with respect to the juvenile’s part in the 

commission of a crime who are in attendance at school, provided they do so in 

accordance with the above procedures. If it is necessary to remove a juvenile from 

school, the member involved shall inform the school officials that the juvenile is being 

removed.  

203.5-11  Live Lineups 
All live lineups of juveniles shall be arranged by the officer in charge of the case in 
conjunction with the Wayne County Youth Home and shall occur at the Wayne 
County Youth Home. All additional live lineup procedures shall apply as delineated 
for adults.  
(Refer to DPD Manual Directive 203.11 “Eyewitness Identification and Lineups.”)  

203.5-12 Tickets 
203.5-12.1 Miscellaneous Ordinance Violations 
Unless otherwise specified in department procedures, juveniles observed in violation 

of miscellaneous city ordinances need not be detained but may be issued a 

Miscellaneous Ordinance Violation Notice and released to appear. When this is 

done, the words “Juvenile” and “To Be Notified” boxes shall be checked on the 

Ordinance Violation Notice, and the Juvenile Court will make the notification 

regarding a hearing date.  

Ordinance violation notices shall not be issued for violations of the following 

miscellaneous ordinances:  

• Knife ordinance(s)  

• Firearm ordinance(s)  

• City school ordinance(s)  

• Destruction of city property (buses)   

  

All juveniles observed violating these miscellaneous ordinances should be detained 

and conveyed to the precinct in which the violation occurred. The juvenile shall be 

processed in accordance with the procedures governing school incidents in this 

policy.  

203.5-12.2   Civil Infractions 
In civil infraction cases, juveniles are processed in the same manner as adults. A 

juvenile observed in violation of a city ordinance or state law which is a civil infraction 

shall not be detained. The juvenile shall be issued a violation notice for the civil 

infraction and released at the scene, provided the juvenile is not involved in any 

criminality; is not wanted on other criminal charges; and would not be in violation of a 
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curfew ordinance if released. When the juvenile is issued a violation notice, the word 

“JUVENILE” shall be written in the “Remarks” section on the bottom portion of the 

Uniform Law Citation.  

203.5-13 Misdemeanor Violations and Misdemeanor Traffic 

Offenses 
203.5-13.1 Juveniles and OWI or OWPD (Operating with the Presence of 
      Drugs) 
With respect to the taking of chemical tests, prior to administering a chemical test, 

members shall make a reasonable effort to contact a parent or legal guardian. (Refer 

to Directive 204.3 Operating While Intoxicated.) Juveniles found to be operating a 

vehicle under the influence of alcohol and/or controlled substance shall be 

processed in accordance with juvenile misdemeanor arrest procedures.  

203.5-14 Felony Violations 
If there is probable cause to believe a juvenile has committed a felony, the juvenile 

shall be detained and conveyed to the precinct in which the violation occurred. The 

officer in charge of the precinct desk shall have the circumstances of the detention 

investigated to determine the sufficiency of evidence to support further detention. 

The officer in charge of the precinct desk shall have the admissions officer of the 

Wayne County Youth Home contacted, as they will determine whether the juvenile 

will be admitted.  

An application for a petition for an official Juvenile Court hearing will be filed in all 

felony cases where evidence of probable cause exists and shall be prepared by 

investigative entity with jurisdiction unless the arresting members in compliance with 

admissions procedures to the Wayne County Youth Home have already completed 

it.  

A waiver of jurisdiction from Juvenile Court to 3rd Circuit Court may be obtained if a 

juvenile fourteen (14) to seventeen (17) years of age is arrested for the following:  

• Murder  

• Robbery  

• Home Invasion I  

• Any Sex Crime; or  

• Any act of violence, which, if committed by an adult, would constitute a  
felony.  
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Sufficient evidence of probable cause must exist to support the charge with the 
existence of evidence or information disclosed from subsequent investigation to 
warrant submission of the waiver request.  
When the results of the initial investigation do not warrant a charge being lodged 

against the juvenile, or if the juvenile is to be released pending further actions on 

order of the officer in charge of the precinct desk or officer in charge of the 

investigative entity with jurisdiction, such release shall be made in accordance with 

juvenile release procedures.  

203.5-15 Violations of Curfew 
Juveniles observed in violation of the curfew ordinance shall be stopped and 

investigated. Discretion should be used in cases, where in the member’s judgment, it 

is a bona fide emergency or when the individual is within sight of the individual’s 

residence or other location where the individual is visiting, provided the individual 

can be released to a parent, legal guardian, or custodian at that address.  

Juveniles detained for violation of the curfew ordinance shall be conveyed to the 

precinct where they shall be issued a Miscellaneous Ordinance Violation. The 

juvenile may be released in accordance with juvenile release procedures.  

Section 29-3-11 of the City Code for Curfew Laws states it is unlawful for a minor to 

be on a public street, sidewalk, playground, vacant lot, or other unsupervised public 

place, during the following restricted times:  

1. For minors age fifteen (15) years and under:  

a. During standard time: from 8:00 p.m. through 6:00 a.m.; and  
b. During daylight savings time: from 10:00 p.m. through 6:00 a.m.  

2. For minors ages sixteen (16) and seventeen (17) years: 

a. During standard time: from 10:00 p.m. through 6:00 a.m., except   

Fridays and Saturdays: from 11:00 p.m. through 6:00 a.m.; and  

b. During daylight saving time: from 11:00 p.m. through 6:00 a.m.  

  

Section 29-3-12 of the City Code for Curfew Laws states it shall be unlawful for a 

minor to be in an arcade, bowling alley, restaurant, theater, or other place of 

amusement or entertainment during the curfew periods as defined in section 29-3-11 

of this Code.  
 

203.5-16 Releasing Names of Juveniles 
Complainants who request the names of juvenile offenders shall be directed to make 

such requests in writing to the commanding officer of the precinct or the 
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commanding officer of the investigative entity with jurisdiction. If the request appears 

to be legitimate, the citizen may be furnished with the requested information.  

203.5-17 School Incidents 
Detroit Public Schools Community District Department of Public Safety (DPSCD PS) 

shall investigate fraud, burglaries, larcenies and assault and battery occurring on 

DPSCD PS’ immediate school buildings and grounds. DPSCD PS shall not 

investigate any Part One Crime and Missing Persons. It shall be the responsibility of 

DPSCD PS in matters involving Part One Crime and Missing Persons to immediately 

notify DPD, pursuant to Article D. 3 above, and all such investigations shall be 

conducted by DPD.  

A school incident that requires immediate police assistance (i.e., outsiders inside the 

school, a disturbance in progress, arrests or detentions that are inevitable, etc.) is 

classified as an emergency school incident. Emergency school incidents will be 

handled by personnel who are dispatched to the scene. The precinct Ceasefire Team 

and the Gang Intelligence Team shall be notified of any arrests and detentions made 

regarding firearm offenses occurring in and around public and private schools in the 

city of Detroit. At the request of DPSCD PS, based on factors such as the presence of 

loitering or other criminal activity, DPD may coordinate visits with DPCSCD PS that 

may encompass, but are not limited to, the following:  

 Entering into DPSCD  

 Signing in at DPSCD 

 Patrolling parking lots and other parts of DPSCD’s property  

 Engaging loiterers 

 Working with DPSCD employees for the purpose of furthering law enforcement 

efforts 

Rumor-type incident information coming to the attention of the Board of Education will 

be reported directly to the officer in charge of the precinct desk at the concerned 

precinct station, who shall determine the appropriate action. DPSCD PS will be the 

primary responder for any call for service at: 

 DPSCD owned schools, buildings and property  

 Involving DPSCD students and/or staff that occurred on DPSCD owned schools, 

buildings and property.  
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If DPD receives a call for service at DPSCD schools, buildings and property or involving 

DPSCD students and/or staff. DPD will notify DPSCD PS immediately by calling DPSCD 

PS Command Center in accordance with current protocols, guidelines and practices in 

place between DPSCD PS and DPD. In the event that DPSCD PS is not available to 

respond to a call, DPD may, depending upon the nature of the availability, depending 

upon the nature of the call availability, make a car available to respond. Irrespective of 

whether DPD or DPSCD PS is the primary responder, the primary responder shall notify 

Communications at DPSCD PS of the disposition of the call. Absent exigent or 

extenuating circumstances, DPD will not enter DPSCD property without first notifying 

DPSCD PS.  

203.5-17.1  Police Shootings 
DPSCD PS and DPD shall jointly investigate DPSCD PS shootings that occur on 
DPSCD property and all shootings which involve DPSCD Police Members that occur 
anywhere within the city of Detroit where DPD and DPSCD PS have concurrent 
jurisdiction. DPD shootings that occur on DPSCD property shall be investigated by the 
Michigan State Police (MSP) lead Homicide Task Force as established by a separate 
agreement with MSP. 

203.5-17.2   Homicide Investigations 
DPD shall investigate homicides occurring on DPSCD property and DPSCD will assist. 

203.5-17.3   Critical or Active Shooter Incidents 
DPD will command these scenes and a DPD Command Level Officer will serve as the 
“Incident Commander.” DPSCD PS and DPD will coordinate efforts to respond to any 
critical or active shooter incidents on DPSCD property or a DPSCD or DPSCD-sponsored 
activity. 

 Related Documents: 

Complaint-Request-for-Action-Delinquency-Proceedings-JC01 

Complaint-Request-for-Action-Child-Protective-Proceeding-JC02 

Confidential-Identification-of-Complainant-and-Witnesses-MJC02A 

Constitutional Rights Certificate of Notification (DPD342B 


