Approved Minutes of Board of Police Commissioners Date of Meeting: Thursday, July 10, 2025 – 6:30 PM Location: New Providence Baptist Church, 18211 Plymouth Road, Detroit, MI 48228

- 1. Chair Dewaelsche called the BOPC Board Meeting to order at 6:30 p.m. No quorum was declared.
 - A. **Invocation.** Chief Investigator Jerome Warfield provided the invocation.
- 2. Introduction of Police Commissioners.

Detroit Board of Police Commissioners' Membership / Attendance		
	In	Not-In
	Attendance	Attendance
Eva Garza Dewaelsche, Chair	Yes	
Darryl Woods, Vice Chair	Yes	
Tamara Liberty Smith	Yes	
Linda D. Bernard, Esq.	Yes	
Cedric Banks		Excused
Willie E. Bell		Excused
Willie E. Burton		Excused
Lisa Carter		Excused
Ricardo Moore	Yes	
QuanTez Pressley		Excused
Quorum (No)	5	5

3. **Oral Communication/Public Comment:** Former Commissioner William Davis, Ms. Victoria Camille, Reverend Lucious Conway, Ms. Bernice Smith, Minister Eric Blount, Ms. Charnita Williams, Mr. Arthur Edge, Ms. Shea Howell and Mr. Jahdante Smith provided public comments.

4. Office of the Chief Investigator Report

Chief Investigator Jerome Warfield provided an update as it relates to OCI efforts to addressing citizen complaints. Chief Investigator stated that OCI has been in transition for the last 8 months, transitioning to a new case management system. More than 72,000 cases have been moved from the old system to the new system. As of June 2025, the office of the chief investigator has investigated and closed 1,347 cases. In 2024, 947 cases were closed. It is projected that approximately 2,000 citizen complaints will be received this year. Technology and policy changes have allowed the office of chief investigator to operate more proficient and efficient. As it relates to staffing, last year there were 15 investigators and this year there are 21 investigators. It is projected that 2,300 cases will be investigated and closed in 2025, which will allow all of 2021, 2022, 2023 and almost all of 2024 cases to be investigated and closed. 2025 cases will be carried over to 2026.

5. Adjournment.

Chair Dewaelsche adjourned the meeting at 7:40 p.m.