Mary Sheffield President

James Tate President Pro Tem



Scott Benson Fred Durhal, III Latisha Johnson Gabriela Santiago-Romero Mary Waters Angela Whitfield Calloway Coleman A. Young, II

Janice Winfrey
City Clerk

Committee of the Whole Room • 1340 Coleman A. Young Municipal Center • (313) 224-3443 • Detroit, MI 48226

CITY COUNCIL EVENING COMMUNITY MEETING NORTHWEST ACTIVITIES CENTER

18100 Meyers June 10, 2025 7:00 p.m. – 8:30 p.m.

This hybrid Evening Community Meeting may be attended in-person or in the following manner:

- **1. To attend by phone only, call one of these numbers:** +1 929 436 2866, +1 312 626 6799, +1 669 900 6833, +1 253 215 8782, +1 301 715 8592, +1 346 248 7799
- 2. All City Council Evening Community Meetings are recorded for television and aired at a later date. These meetings may be viewed on Comcast: Channel 10 and from AT&T Uverse from Channel 99, click Detroit, then Channel 10.

AGENDA

- I. Call to Order- City Council President Mary Sheffield
- II. Roll Call- Committee Clerk
- III. Invocation- Rev. Dr. Yvette Griffen, Pastor at Pilgrim Baptist Church
- IV. Welcome- Gail Carr, Northwest Activities Center
- V. Recognition of Department Representatives and Council Staff
- VI. Council Members At-large Remarks

Council Member Coleman A. Young II

- Reopening of the Coleman A. Young Recreation Center video- *Director Crystal Perkins* of GSD, Director LeJuan Counts of the Demolition Dept, Solei Thomas, project manager for the Demolition Dept.
- Spirit of Detroit Awards
 - 1. The Honorable Brenda B. Jones, Former Detroit City Council President (1/20/14-1/1/2022) (full City Council term: 1/1/2006-1/1/2022)
 - 2. George P. Barnes, Founder, President, CEO and Chairman of the Board of Heritage Optical and Heritage Vision Plans
 - 3. James "J Mike" Antwin, custom silk screener and business owner
- A Year in Review video- Office of Council Member Coleman A. Young II
- Foreclosures in Wayne County- Wayne County Treasurer Eric Sabree
- Hope Program and Application Deadlines-Willie Donwell, Director, Board of Tax Review

• Closing Remarks- Council Member Coleman A. Young II

Council Member Mary Waters

- Video presentation
- Award presentations
 - 1. Evelyn Bradshaw Testimonial Resolution
 - 2. Terrence Demeko Dortch Spirit of Detroit Award
 - 3. Diamond Greenwood Spirit of Detroit Award
 - 4. DESC Testimonial Resolution
 - 5. Community Partners Spirit of Detroit Awards

VII. Citizen Concern

- Michael Cunningham- DDOT
- Renard Monczunski- DDOT
- Rochella Stewart- DDOT
- Robert Pawlowski- DDOT
- Demeeko Williams- DWSD concerns

VIII. Public Comment

IX. Closing Remarks

X. Adjournment

Note: All other concerns can be heard during public comment.