Michigan Clean State Legislation Overview

In October 2020, the Legislature enacted a group of bills collectively known as the “Clean Slate” package. These bills impact the rules and
procedures an individual may use to have a prior conviction set aside. In addition to making several changes to the existing paper application
processes and eligible offenses, the Clean Slate package also created a new automatic process to set aside eligible offenses without requiring
an individual to file an application. Due to the necessary technical changes, implementation of the automatic set aside process is contingent
upon appropriation for the necessary technology. The legislation also provides for a two-year development process before implementation of
the automatic set aside process.

This resource provides an overview of the legislation included in the Clean Slate package and is divided into general topic areas. You can use
the table of contents below to explore a particular topic area. Please be sure to review the text of the Public Act itself for the complete details
of the legislation.

Description (click to jump section below) Bill No. Public Act Effective Date | Impacted Statues
Paper Application Set Aside Process HB 4984 | 2020 PA 191 | 4/11/21 MCL 780.621
Offenses That Cannot be Set Aside HB 4981 | 2020 PA 187 | 4/11/21 MCL 780.621c (new)
“One Bad Night”-Counting Multiple Offenses within 24hrs | HB 4985 | 2020 PA 188 | 4/11/21 MCL 780.621b (new)
Timing for Filing Set Aside Application HB 4983 | 2020 PA 190 | 4/11/21 MCL 780.621d (new)
Nonpublic Status of Set Aside Convictions HB 4980 | 2020 PA 193 | 4/11/21 MCL 780.623
Treatment of Convictions that Are Set Aside HB 4980 | 2020 PA 193 | 4/11/21 MCL 780.622
Marihuana Related Set Asides HB 4982 | 2020 PA 192 | 4/11/21 MCL 780.621e (new)
Marihuana Set Aside, No Resentencing HB 5120 | 2020 PA 189 | 4/11/21 MCL 780.621f (new)
Number of Offenses to Set Aside HB 4980 | 2020 PA 193 | 4/11/21 MCL 780.624
Automatic Set Aside HB 4980 | 2020 PA 193 | 4/11/21* MCL 780.621g (new)
Reinstatement of Convictions HB 4980 | 2020 PA 193 | 4/11/21 MCL 780.621h (new)
Michigan Set Aside Fund HB 4980 | 2020 PA 193 | 4/11/21 MCL 780.621i (new)

! The implementation of the automatic set aside will occur subject to the necessary appropriations, but not until 2 years after the effective date of the bill. Therefore, the
earliest implementation of the automatic set aside process is April 2023.
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back to TOC Paper Application Set Aside

Statute Citation (pre-2020 What the statute required prior to the 2020 What the new statute requires post the 2020
amendments): amendments: amendments:

MCL 780.621(1) A person may apply to set aside 1 felony and 2 Increases the number of felony offenses that
2020 PA 191 misdemeanor convictions under certain can be set aside from 1 to 3 and establishes
HB 4984 circumstances. Certain offenses were excluded. that not more than 2 can be for an assaultive

crime. MCL 780.621(1)(a)-(b).

Prohibits an applicant from having more than
1 felony conviction for the same offense set
aside if it is punishable by more than 10 years
in prison. MCL 780.621(1)(c).

Allows an applicant to apply to have a
conviction for a violation or attempted
violation of MCL 750.520e set aside if the
conviction was before January 12, 2015, and
the person has not been convicted of more
than two minor offenses.? MCL

780.621(1)(d).
MCL 780.621(2) Provided that a misdemeanor or felony conviction The amended text of subsection (2) is
that was deferred and dismissed is considered a substantially the same as the pre-amendment

misdemeanor conviction under MCL 780.621(1) for | text.
purposes of determining whether the person is
eligible to have any conviction set aside under the

act.

MCL 780.621(3) This subsection specified that a person could not The previous text of subsection (3) was
apply for and a judge could not grant the setting amended, and is now included in MCL
aside of a conviction for a list of specified 780.621c.

convictions. This subsection was removed from this
section of the statute.

2 MCL 780.621(1)(d) defines a “minor offense” for the purposes of this section as a misdemeanor or ordinance violation for which the maximum permissible term of
imprisonment does not exceed 90 days, the maximum permissible fine is not more than $1,000, and the person who committed the offense is not more than 21 years old.
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MCL 780.621(4)

This subsection provided for the process of setting
aside convictions for victims of human trafficking.

The previous text of this subsection was
renumbered as subsection (3). The amended
subsection (4) includes definitions used
throughout the statute, which were formerly
in MCL 780.621(16).

MCL 780.621(5) This subsection provided that an application to be This subsection was removed from MCL
set aside could only be filed 5 or more years after 780.621, was amended, and is now included
completion of the sentence of the conviction the in MCL 780.621d.
person wished to set aside.

MCL 780.621(6) The person could not file a new application to set This subsection was removed from MCL
aside convictions less than 3 years after the 780.621 and is now included in MCL
convicting court denied the previous petition unless | 780.621d(5). The text remains the same.
the court specified a lesser period of time.

MCL 780.621(7) A person who committed 1 or more crimes as a This subsection was removed from MCL
victim of human trafficking could apply to have 1 or | 780.621 and is now included in MCL
more convictions set aside at any time. 780.621d(6). The text remains the same.

MCL 780.621(8) This subsection detailed the information required to | This subsection was removed from MCL
submit a valid application to set aside a conviction. | 780.621 and is now included in MCL

780.621d(7). The text remains substantially
the same.

MCL 780.621(9) The subsection required an applicant to submit a This subsection was removed from MCL
copy of the application and fingerprints to the MSP, | 780.621 and is now included in MCL
who was required to provide a criminal history to 780.621d(8). The text remains the same.
the court.

MCL 780.621(10) The subsection required a $50 fee be paid to the This subsection was removed from MCL
MSP to process the application. 78.621 and is now included in MCL

780.621d(9). The text remains the same.

MCL 780.621(11) The subsection required that a copy of the This subsection was removed from MCL
application be served on the attorney general and 780.621 and is now included in MCL
each prosecuting attorney who prosecuted the 780.621d(10). The text remains substantially
crime(s). It provided an opportunity for the AG and | the same.

PA to contest the application and provided that the
victim had a right to appear and make a statement.
MCL 780.621(12) The court could require the filing of affidavits and This subsection was removed from MCL

the taking of proofs on an application.

780.621 and is now included in MCL
780.621d(11). The text remains substantially
the same.




MCL 780.621(13) The court could enter an order setting aside the This subsection was removed from MCL
conviction of an applicant if the applicant proves by | 780.621 and is now included in MCL

a preponderance of the evidence that he or she wasa | 780.621d(12). The text remains substantially
victim of human trafficking when committing the the same.

crime.
MCL 780.621(14) The court may set aside the conviction if the court This subsection was removed from MCL
determines it is consistent with the public welfare. 780.621 and is now included in MCL
780.621d(13). The text remains substantially
the same.
MCL 780.621(15) The subsection stated that the setting aside of a This subsection was removed from MCL
conviction was a privilege and conditional and nota | 780.621 and is now included in MCL
right. 780.621d(14). The text remains the same.
MCL 780.621(16) This subsection contained the definitions relevant The contents of this subsection, along with
throughout this statute. additional statutory references, were moved
into MCL 780.621(4) when the statute was
renumbered.
back to TOC Offenses That Cannot be Set Aside
Statute Citation: What the statute required prior to the 2020 What the new statute requires post the 2020
amendments: amendments:
MCL 780.621c This is a new section. Convictions for the following cannot be set
2020 PA 187 aside:
HB 4981 1. Afelony or attempted felony where

the punishment is life imprisonment.

2. Certain offenses related to the
exploitation and delinquency of
minors.?

3. A violation or attempted violation of
fourth-degree CSC if convicted on or
after January 12, 2015.

4. Certain traffic offenses, including
operating while intoxicated,
committing a traffic offense as a
person with a CDL operating a
commercial vehicle, or any traffic
offense that involves injury or death.

3 Offenses listed are MCL 750.136b(3), 750.136d(1)(b) or (c), 750.145¢c, 750.145d, 750.520c, 750.520d, and 750.520g. MCL 780.621c(1)(b).
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5. Felony domestic violence, if the
applicant has a previous misdemeanor
conviction for domestic violence.

6. Human trafficking offenses.* MCL
780.621c(1)(a)-(1).

These prohibitions on setting aside a
conviction also apply to the automatic set
aside provision of MCL 780.621g. MCL
780.621c(2).

An order setting aside a traffic offense does
not require the SOS to remove it from the
defendant’s driving record. MCL
780.621c(3).

back to TOC

“One Bad Night” — Counting Multiple Offenses within 24 Hours

Statute Citation:

What the statute required prior to the 2020
amendments:

What the new statute requires post the 2020
amendments:

MCL 780.621b
2020 PA 188
HB 4985

This is a new section.

Also known as “One Bad Night.” Multiple
felony or misdemeanor convictions must be
treated as one felony or one misdemeanor
conviction if they occurred with a 24-hour
period and arose out of the same transaction.
Exceptions include:
1. anassaultive crime,
2. acrime involving the use or
possession of a dangerous weapon,
3. acrime with a maximum penalty of
10 years or more imprisonment, and
4. aconviction for a crime that if it had
been obtained in this state would be
for an assaultive crime.

4 Offenses listed are a violation of former MCL 750.462i or MCL 750.462j and MCL 750.462a to 750.462h and 750.543a to 750.543z. MCL 780.621c(1)(f).
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back to TOC

Timing for Filing Set Aside Application

Statute Citation:

What the statute required prior to the 2020
amendments:

What the new statute requires post the 2020
amendments:

MCL 780.621d
2020 PA 190
HB 4983

This is a new section.

This is a new section that contains many
provisions from the pre-2020 amendments
version of MCL 780.621 noted above.
Changes include:

1. Anapplication to set aside more than
1 felony conviction shall only be filed
7 or more years after whichever
occurs last: imposition of the
sentence, completion of probation,
discharge from parole, or completion
of any term of imprisonment. MCL
780.621d(1)(a)-(d).

2. An application to set aside 1 or more
serious misdemeanor or 1 felony
conviction(s) shall only be filed 5 or
more years after whichever occurs
last: imposition of the sentence,
completion of probation, discharge
from parole, or completion of any
term of imprisonment. MCL
780.621d(2)(a)-(d).

3. Anapplication to set aside 1 or more
misdemeanor convictions shall only
be filed 3 or more years after
whichever occurs last: the imposition
of a sentence, completion of any term
of imprisonment, or completion of
probation. MCL 780.621d(3)(a)-(c).

Amended subsections 4 — 14 are substantially
the same as the pre-2020 amendment version
of MCL 780.621(5) — (15).




back to TOC

Nonpublic Status of Set Aside Convictions

Statute Citation (pre-2020

What the statute required prior to the 2020

What the new statute requires post the 2020

amendments): amendments: amendments:

MCL 780.623 Makes a conviction that was set aside a nonpublic Includes reference to MCL 780.621e and

2020 PA 193 record. MCL 780.621g; allows the use of a nonpublic

HB 4980 record for making determinations about
charging, plea offers, and sentencing; and
creates a liability exception for reporting a
conviction that was set aside if it was in the
public record on the date of the report.

MCL 780.623(1) Upon entry of an order under MCL 780.621, the Includes an order entered under MCL

court must send a copy of the order to the arresting | 780.621e (misdemeanor marihuana).
agency and MSP.

MCL 780.623(2) MSP must retain a nonpublic record of the order Also includes any other notification regarding
setting aside a conviction, and of the records of the | a conviction that was automatically set aside
arrest, fingerprints, conviction, and sentence of the under MCL 780.621g.
person.

MCL 780.623(2)(9) Subsection (2) provides who a nonpublic record can | Clarifies that the nonpublic record may be
be made available to. Subdivision (g) is new. made available for consideration by a court,

law enforcement agency, prosecuting
attorney, or the attorney general for use in
making determinations regarding charging,
plea offers, and sentencing.

MCL 780.623(6) New subsection. Creates an exception that an entity is not
liable for reporting a public record of
conviction that was set aside, as described in
MCL 780.623(5), if that record was available
as a public record on the date of the report.

back to TOC

Treatment

of Convictions That Are Set Aside

Statute Citation (pre-2020

What the statute required prior to the 2020

What the new statute requires post the 2020

amendments): amendments: amendments:

MCL 780.622 Clarified how convictions that were set aside were Adds new language regarding restitution,
2020 PA 193 supposed to be treated. using a set aside conviction as evidence, and
HB 4980 using for purposes of charging a second or

subsequent crime.




MCL 780.622(1)

Upon entry of an order setting aside a conviction
under MCL 780.621, the applicant is considered not
to have been previously convicted, except as
provided in MCL 780.622 and MCL 780.623.

Also includes orders for convictions set aside
under MCL 780.621e (misdemeanor
marihuana) and MCL 780.621g (automatic
set aside).

MCL 780.622(3)

If the conviction was set aside under MCL 780.621
and involves a listed offense under the sex offender
registration act, the applicant is considered to have
been convicted for that offense for purposes of
SORA.

Also includes orders for convictions set aside
under MCL 780.621e (misdemeanor
marihuana) and MCL 780.621g (automatic
set aside).

MCL 780.622(7)

New subsection.

Clarifies that the act does not relieve any
obligation to pay restitution owed to the
victim, nor does it affect the jurisdiction of
the court regarding enforcement of an order
of restitution.

MCL 780.622(8)

New subsection.

A conviction that was set aside cannot be
used as evidence in any action for negligent
hiring, admission, or licensure against any
person.

MCL 780.622(9)

New subsection.

A conviction set aside under MCL 780.621,
MCL 780.621e (misdemeanor marihuana), or
MCL 780.621g (automatic set aside) may be
considered a prior conviction for purposes of
charging a crime as a second or subsequent
offense.

MCL 780.622(10)

New subsection.

Defines “applicant” as an individual who has
applied under the act to have his or her
conviction(s) set aside or an individual whose
conviction(s) was set aside without an
application under MCL 780.621g.

back to TOC

Marihuana

Related Set Aside

Statute Citation:

What the statute required prior to the 2020
amendments:

What the new statute requires post the 2020
amendments:

MCL 780.621e
2020 PA 192
HB 4982

This is a new section.

Creates a set aside process for certain
marihuana-related offenses.




Questions:

Answers with Citation Reference:

Are misdemeanor marihuana
convictions automatically set
aside, or will an application have
to be submitted?

A person convicted of 1 or more misdemeanor marihuana offenses may apply to set aside the
conviction(s).

MCL 780.621e(1).

How is a misdemeanor marihuana
conviction different than other
misdemeanor convictions that can
be set aside under MCL 780.621
or MCL 780.621g?

The statute specifies that there is a rebuttable presumption that a conviction for a misdemeanor
marihuana offense sought to be set aside by an applicant was based on activity that would not have
been a crime if committed on or after December 6, 2018. This rebuttable presumption arises upon
filing of an application listed under subsection (1).

MCL 780.621e(4).

How does a prosecuting attorney
rebut the presumption?

The prosecuting attorney must present evidence that demonstrates by a preponderance of the
evidence that the conduct on which the applicant’s conviction(s) was based would constitute a
criminal violation of the laws of this state or political subdivision if it had been committed on or after
December 6, 2018. The prosecuting attorney must present this evidence in an answer filed no later
than 60 days from the date of service of the application.

MCL 780.621e(4).

If the prosecuting attorney files an
answer rebutting the presumption,
what does the court have to do?

The court must promptly set the matter for a hearing no later than 30 days from its receipt of the
prosecuting attorney’s answer.

MCL 780.621e(6).

What happens at the hearing on
the rebuttable presumption?

The prosecuting attorney must prove by a preponderance of the evidence that the conviction(s)
sought to be set aside were based on conduct that would constitute a criminal violation of the laws of
this state or political subdivision if it had been committed on or after December 6, 2018. The
applicant is not required to present evidence. The evidentiary burden rests solely on the
prosecuting attorney.

MCL 780.621e(6).

After the hearing, how long does
the court have to enter an order
denying or granting the
application?

The court must enter an order denying or granting the application no later than 14 days after
completion of the hearing and serve the order on the parties, including MSP.

MCL 780.621¢e(6).

Do the rules of evidence apply
during the hearing?

The rules of evidence do not apply to a hearing under this subsection.
MCL 780.621e(6).

What if the prosecutor does not
file an answer rebutting the
presumption before expiration of
the 60-day period?

The convicting court must enter an order setting aside the conviction(s) within 21 days and serve a
copy on the applicant, arresting agency, prosecuting attorney, and MSP.

MCL 780.621¢(5).




What is considered a
misdemeanor marihuana
conviction under this section?

“Misdemeanor marihuana offense” means a violation of MCL 333.7403(2)(d) (possession), MCL
333.7404(2)(d) (use), or MCL 333.7453 (selling marihuana paraphernalia), or a violation of a local
ordinance substantially corresponding to one of those statutes.

MCL 780.621e(7).

back to TOC

Marihuana Set Aside, No Resentencing

Statute Citation:

What the statute required prior to the 2020
amendments:

What the new statute requires post the 2020
amendments:

MCL 780.621f
2020 PA 189
HB 5120

It clarifies that misdemeanor marihuana
convictions that were set aside under MCL
780.621e do not entitle the applicant to
resentencing in another criminal case where
the conviction(s) were used in determining an
appropriate sentence; that an applicant is not
entitled to the return of any fines, costs, or
fees imposed as part of the applicant’s
sentence; and requires the conviction to be
maintained as a nonpublic record.

This is a new section.

Questions:

Answers with Citation Reference:

Are misdemeanor marihuana
conviction(s) that are set aside
under MCL 780.621e maintained
as a nonpublic record like other
set aside convictions?

The arresting agency and MSP must maintain the nonpublic record just the same as provided in
MCL 780.623.

MCL 780.621f(1).

Can an applicant seek
resentencing in another criminal
case if the misdemeanor
marihuana conviction(s) was used
in determining an appropriate
sentence for that offense?

The applicant may not seek resentencing in another criminal case if the misdemeanor marihuana
conviction(s) at issue was used in determining an appropriate sentence in that case.

MCL 780.621f(2).

What if an aggrieved party (of the
court’s ruling to set aside the
conviction) wants to challenge the
set aside?

The party aggrieved by the ruling of the convicting court may seek rehearing or reconsideration
under the applicable rules of the convicting court. The aggrieved party may also file an appeal with
the circuit court or, if applicable, the court of appeals. MCL 780.621f(3).
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Can an applicant request the
return of fines, costs, or fees
related to the misdemeanor
marihuana conviction(s) that is set
aside?

The applicant is not entitled to the return of any fines, costs, or fees imposed as part of the
applicant’s sentence for the misdemeanor marihuana conviction(s), or any money or property
forfeited by the prosecuting agency or any law enforcement agency as a result of the conduct leading
to the conviction or the misdemeanor marihuana conviction itself.

MCL 780.621f(4).

back to TOC Number of Offenses to Set Aside

Statute Citation (pre-2020 What the statute required prior to the 2020 What the new statute requires post the 2020

amendments): amendments: amendments:

MCL 780.624 Provides that, except as provided in MCL 780.621, a | Now states that, except as provided in MCL

2020 PA 193 person may only have 1 conviction set aside. 780.621 AND MCL 780.621e (misdemeanor

HB 4980 marihuana) and MCL 780.621g (automatic
set aside), a person may only have 1
conviction set aside. MCL 780.624.

back to TOC Automatic

Set Aside (New)

Statute Citation:

What the statute required prior to the 2020 What the new statute requires post the 2020

amendments: amendments:
MCL 780.621g This is a new section. There was no automatic set Requires MSP and courts to automatically set
2020 PA 193 aside process prior to this new statute. Every request | aside certain convictions without the filing of
HB 4980 for set aside had to be requested by application. an application.
Questions: Answers with Citation Reference:

When does the automatic set aside
statute become effective?

The statue becomes effective beginning two years after the effective date of the amendatory act,
subject to appropriation.

MCL 780.621g(1)-(4), (14).

When will a felony conviction be
automatically set aside by MSP?

A felony conviction will be automatically set aside 10 years after either imposition of the sentence
for the conviction or completion of any term of imprisonment with MDOC, whichever occurs later
and the conviction is otherwise eligible.

MCL 780.621g(2).

When will a 93-day or more
misdemeanor be automatically
set aside by MSP?

MSP will automatically set aside all 93-day or more misdemeanors 7 years after the imposition of
sentence.

MCL 780.621g(4).
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When will a 92-day or less
misdemeanor be automatically
set aside by MSP (e.g.
fingerprints were submitted to
MSP)?

If the conviction is recorded and maintained in the MSP database, MSP will set aside the conviction
7 years after the imposition of sentence.

MCL 780.621g(3).

When will a 92-day or less
misdemeanor be automatically
set aside by the court (e.g. no
fingerprints were submitted to
MSP)?

If the conviction is maintained only in the court’s case management system, the court must set aside
the conviction 7 years after the imposition of sentence.

MCL 780.621g(1).

If the court automatically sets
aside a 92-day or less
misdemeanor, how will the
arresting agency be notified?

The court must notify the arresting law enforcement agency of each conviction set aside on or before
the tenth day of each month for the preceding month.

MCL 780.621g(1).

How many convictions can be
automatically set aside?

Not more than 2 felony convictions and 4 misdemeanor (=93 days) convictions total can be
automatically set aside. The limit on the number of misdemeanor convictions that may be set aside
does not apply to 92-day or less misdemeanors set aside under subsection (1) or (3).

MCL 780.621g(5).

What convictions (including
attempt) cannot be automatically
set aside?

1) An assaultive crime;®

2) A serious misdemeanor;®

3) A crime of dishonesty;’

4) Any other offense, not otherwise listed in this subsection that is punishable by 10 or more years’
imprisonment;

5) A crime with elements involving a minor, vulnerable adult, injury or serious impairment, or
death; or

6) Any violation related to human trafficking®.

MCL 780.621g(10).

How will the court know what
convictions have been set aside by
MSP?

DTMB will develop a computer-based program for the setting aside of convictions. Also, MSP will
create and maintain an electronically accessible record of each conviction recorded and maintained
in the state’s database that was set aside and will make it accessible by each court in the state.

MCL 780.621g(11) and (13).

5 MCL 780.621(4)(a) defines assaultive crime.

6 MCL 780.621(4)(h) defines serious misdemeanor.
" MCL 780.621g(15) defines crime of dishonesty.
8 MCL 780.621(4)(d) defines human trafficking violation.
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What other requirements are
necessary to automatically set
aside a felony or 93-day or more
misdemeanor?

1) The applicable time period (felony - 10 years) or (=93 day misdemeanor - 7 years) has elapsed;

2) There are no criminal charges pending in LEIN; and

3) The applicant has not been convicted of any criminal offense during the applicable time period
required under subsection (2) or (4).

MCL 780.621g(6).

back to TOC

Reinstatement of Convictions

Statute Citation:

What the statute required prior to the 2020 What the new statute requires post the 2020

amendments: amendments:

MCL 780.621h This is a new section. Allows for a conviction(s) set under MCL

2020 PA 193 780.6219 (automatic set aside) to be

HB 4980 reinstated if it was improperly set aside or if
the court determines that the individual has
not made a good-faith effort to pay the
ordered restitution.

Questions: Answers with Citation Reference:

What happens if a conviction was
improperly or erroneously set
aside?

If it is determined that a conviction was improperly set aside under MCL 780.621g (automatic)
because the conviction was not eligible, the court, on its own motion, must reinstate the conviction.

MCL 780.621h(1)-(2).

What happens if a conviction was
set aside, but the defendant still
owes restitution?

If a conviction was set aside under MCL 780.621g (automatic), and a motion by a person owed
restitution is filed, or on the court’s own motion, the court must reinstate the conviction if it
determines that the individual has not made a good-faith effort to pay the ordered restitution.

MCL 780.621h(3).

back to TOC

Michigan Set Aside Fund

Statute Citation:

What the statute required prior to the 2020
amendments:

What the new statute requires post the 2020
amendments:

MCL 780.621i
2020 PA 193
HB 4980

This is a new section. Creates the Michigan set aside fund®.

92020 PA 400 provides that for the fiscal year ending September 30, 2021, $24,000,000 of the money in the marihuana registry fund will be transferred to and deposited

into the Michigan set aside fund created under MCL 780.621i. See MCL 333.26426(1).
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Questions:

Answers with Citation Reference:

How will the court know what
convictions to set aside?

SCAO will work with MSP and DTMB to implement system upgrades necessitated by the automatic
set aside process.

MCL 780.621i.
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