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Michigan’s Towing Laws

The purpose of this presentation is to provide an
overview of Michigan’s towing laws, how to properly
retrieve a vehicle that has been towed, and how to
report unlawful towing or unreasonable fees.

Jason Evans

Division Chief

Corporate Oversight Division

Michigan Department of Attorney General
Michigan.gov/consumerprotection




What You Need to

Know

*You can find a list of towing situations and fees in
the Motor Vehicle Code, MCL 257.252a.

A vehicle towed can be towed from private or
public property.

‘Vehicle owners are responsible for storage fees.

*Private property owners can have vehicles towed.
They must follow specific posting guidelines.

-Tow companies share the vehicle’s new location
with local police.




What You Need to

Know, cont.

‘Within 24 hours, the police determine if the vehicle
was reported stolen. It gets added to the law
enforcement information network. The vehicle gets
marked as an abandoned vehicle. The police
update the Secretary of State.

*Vehicles involved in accidents must be claimed
within 20 days. After that, it is labeled as an
abandoned vehicle.

A vehicle owner must go through the legal process
to get their vehicle back. They can also try
challenging it in court.




Private Property notice

A private property owner must post a notice before
towing a vehicle without the owner’s consent. The
notice must:

(a) be prominently displayed at each point of entry
for vehicular access. If the property lacks curbs or
access barriers, not less than 1 notice shall be
posted for each 100 feet of road frontage.

(b) clearly indicate in letters not less than 2 inches
high on a contrasting background that
unauthorized vehicles will be towed at the owner's
expense.

(c) provide the name and telephone number of the
towing service.

(d) be permanently installed with the bottom of the
notice located not less than 4 feet from the ground
and continuously maintained on the property for
not less than 24 hours before a vehicle is towed.




Secretary of State
Notice

‘The Secretary of State must notify owners by mail
within seven days.

*The mail goes to the owner listed on the title.
Anyone else listed on the title receives a copy of the
notice. A secured party is normally a bank or credit
union.

What's in the notice:

‘Where the vehicle was towed from.

-Towing company name.

Address of where the vehicle is now.

‘How to claim the vehicle.

‘How to challenge the towing.

‘How to challenge the towing and storage fees; and
How to file with the court.




How Do | Find the Location
of My Vehicle?

You can find the location of your vehicle and the
custodian online. Enter the vehicle's identification
number (VIN) or license plate number on

the Secretary of State's Michigan Abandoned
Vehicle Search. You can also contact the
Abandoned Vehicle Help Desk at 517-636-5234.



https://dsvsesvc.sos.state.mi.us/TAP/_/

How Do | Get Personal ltems

Out of My Towed Vehicle?

‘The company storing the vehicle must allow the
owner to inspect the vehicle. And to get their items
out for free, for the first visit. After that, they can't
charge the owner more than $25 per time.




How Do | Redeem My Vehicle?

To redeem your vehicle as the owner, you must:

-Visit the custodian holding the vehicle within 20 days of the notice. A
custodian can be the police agency, towing company, or impound
lot.

Take your title or registration with you. They may ask you to prove
that the vehicle is yours.

‘Pay towing and storage fees. You may be charged a $40
abandoned vehicle fee.

Warning: You have 20 days from the notice date to request a
hearing. But after 10 days, a secured party can redeem the vehicle
by paying all fees.

If you or the secured party do not redeem the vehicle or request a
hearing within 20 days, it may be sold at public auction. You will lose
all rights to the vehicle. At least five days before any sale, public
notice will be published in a newspaper. It is published in the county
where the vehicle was towed.




How Do | Challenge a Tow or
The Reasonableness of Fees?

‘Towing and storage fees are normally set by the
agreement between the police agency and the
towing company. Residents should contact the
police agency involved in the towing to verify fees.
We also recommend you review your insurance
policy or contact your agent to see if your policy
covers towing costs.

*You have the right to challenge whether your
vehicle was properly towed and the
reasonableness of towing and storage fees. This
must be done in a timely manner and in an
appropriate district court.




How Do | File a Petition with
the Court?

File a petition in the district court that has jurisdiction over
the location where your car was towed.

*You must file your petition within 20 days from the
abandoned vehicle notice date.

*You will be responsible for applicable court filing fees. The
petition and instructions for how to fill it out are included with
the mailed notice. They are also available on the Petition
Regarding Impoundment of Motor Vehicle (DC90) form (PDF).
*If you request a hearing, you can get your vehicle back while
you are awaiting the hearing outcome. Before you get it back
you must:
« post a towing and storage bond with the court. This will
include the accrued towing and storage fees; or
- pay the abandoned vehicle fees and the accrued
towing and storage fees to the custodian of your
vehicle.

°If the court finds that your vehicle was improperly towed, you
will be reimbursed for the towing and storage fees. The
abandoned vehicle fee will also be returned.



https://www.courts.michigan.gov/siteassets/forms/scao-approved/dc90.pdf

Towing Complaints

Attorney General's Office Complaints

You may file complaints with the Michigan Attorney General's
Consumer Protection Team. If your complaint involves a tow that was
directed by the police or a private property owner, and you want to
contest the tow and unreasonable fees, then you must follow the
process outlined above and file a petition for a court hearing.

Local Police Agency Complaints

If the police direct the tow, you can also complain to the local police
agency. It can take appropriate action against the towing company if
fees or other conduct by the towing company violates an agreement
between the police agency and the company.

Checking Operating Authority

The Michigan State Police (MSP) regulate all towing companies that
operate in Michigan. MSP's Commercial Vehicle Enforcement Division
(CVED) processes towing company applications to operate. Towing
companies must submit active liability insurance, worker's
compensation insurance, or an dpproved exemption. You may check
operating authority by visiting the CVED's Intrastate Carrier Authority
Registration System website. Questions can be directed to the CVED
at 517-284-3250.



https://mspcapsearch.state.mi.us/

CONTACT US

To file a complaint with the Attorney General, or get
additional information, contact:

Consumer Protection Team

P.O. Box 30213

Lansing, MI 48909

517-335-7599

Fax: 517-241-3771

Toll-free: 877-765-8388

Online complaint form
Michigan.gov/consumerprotection



https://secure.ag.state.mi.us/complaints/consumer.aspx

