
Expungement Waiting Period

Michigan law requires that you complete a waiting
period for a conviction before applying for expungement
of that conviction. Your waiting period begins when you
are discharged from parole/probation, released from
prison/jail, or sentenced - whichever occurs LAST.

How long is the waiting period? 
Different convictions have different waiting periods. In Michigan,
waiting periods may be 3, 5, or 7 years.

Misdemeanors = 3 years
Serious misdemeanors = 5 years
Felonies = 5 years
Multiple felonies = 7 years

When will my file be reopened?
Our attorneys have calculated your eligibility date and recorded it in
our case management system. Our system will alert us 90 days before
your eligibility date. We will contact you at that time to start
preparing. If your contact information changes, be sure to email us
to let us know.

What can I do while I wait?
While you wait, you can prepare for your hearing. This may include
gathering letters of support from friends and family, volunteering in
your community, and ensuring you do not owe any money to the
court.


