David Whitaker, Esq. Director Irvin Corley, Jr. Executive Policy Manager Marcell R. Todd, Jr. Director, City Planning Commission

Janese Chapman Director, Historic Designation Advisory Board

John Alexander LaKisha Barclift, Esq. Paige Blessman M. Rory Bolger, Ph.D., FAICP Lisa DiChiera Eric Fazzini, AICP Willene Green Christopher Gulock, AICP Derrick Headd Marcel Hurt, Esq. **City of Detroit** CITY COUNCIL LEGISLATIVE POLICY DIVISION 208 Coleman A. Young Municipal Center Detroit, Michigan 48226 Phone: (313) 224-4946 Fax: (313) 224-4336

Kimani Jeffrey Anthony W. L. Johnson Phillip Keller, Esq. **Edward King Kelsey Maas Jamie Murphy** Latawn Oden **Dolores Perales** Analine Powers, Ph.D. W. Akilah Redmond **Rebecca Savage** Sabrina Shockley **Renee Short Floyd Stanley** Thomas Stephens, Esq. **Timarie Szwed Theresa Thomas** Ian Tomashik Ashley A. Wilson

TO:	The Honorable Detroit City Council

FROM: David Whitaker, Director Legislative Policy Division Staff

DATE: July 11, 2024

RE: RESOLUTION IN SUPPORT OF HOUSE BILL 4177 OF 2023 AND HOUSE BILLS 5817 AND 5818 OF 2024

Council Member Angela Whitfield-Calloway requested that the Legislative Policy Division (LPD) draft a resolution urging the Michigan legislature to pass House Bills 4177, 5817, and 5818.

Please contact us if we can be of any further assistance.

BY COUNCIL MEMBER ANGELA WHITFIELD-CALLOWAY

RESOLUTION IN SUPPORT OF HOUSE BILL 4177 OF 2023 AND HOUSE BILLS 5817 AND 5818 OF 2024

- WHEREAS, On June 20, 2024, the Michigan House of Representative passed HB 4177, first introduced by Representative Tyrone Carter; and
- WHEREAS, The bill, known as the "History Museum Authorities Act," would allow Wayne and Oakland counties to establish an authority that could levy a property tax of up to 0.2 mills for up to 10 years with voter approval, and it largely mirrors similar legislation that supports the Detroit Institute of Arts and the Detroit Zoo; and
- WHEREAS, HB 4177 is tie-barred with HB 5817 and HB 5818, which would exempt the revenue created by the museum tax from the Recodified Tax Increment Financing Act and the Brownfield Redevelopment Financing Act; and
- WHEREAS, The bills are intended to create additional funding for the Charles H. Wright Museum of African American History and the Detroit Historical Society, which operates the Detroit Historical Museum and the Dossin Great Lakes Museum; and
- WHEREAS, During deliberation, the leadership of both organizations testified that these important cultural resources have accumulated a great deal of deferred maintenance costs due to a lack of funding; and
- WHEREAS, The Charles H. Wright Museum opened as the largest museum in the world dedicated to African American History, and it remains an iconic institution for both Detroit and the US, drawing over 500,000 visitors annually, organizing the annual African World Festival, and serving as a blueprint for other culturally specific historic institutions throughout the country; and
- **WHEREAS**, The Detroit Historical Museum is dedicated to chronicling the history of Detroit from 18th century fur trading through the industrial revolution, the development of the auto industry, and beyond; and
- **WHEREAS,** The Detroit Historical Society also operates the Dossin Great Lakes Museum dedicated to maritime history in the region, and is responsible for maintaining over 250,000 historical artifacts and the curation of educational events throughout the year; and
- WHEREAS, The preservation of these institutions should be prioritized, as they are vital resources that allow residents and visitors to engage and interact with their history, both positive and negative, in order to gain a better understanding of the world and to gain context for how our past and present are connected; NOW THEREFORE BE IT
- **RESOLVED,** The Detroit City Council strongly urges the Michigan legislature to pass House Bills 4177, 5817, and 5818; **THEREFORE, BE IT FINALLY**
- **RESOLVED,** That the Detroit City Clerk is directed to send this resolution to the Detroit delegations of both the Michigan State House and Senate, in addition to Governor Gretchen Whitmer.