Donovan Smith
Chairperson
Melanie Markowicz
Vice Chair/Secretary

Marcell R. Todd, Jr. Director

## City of Detroit CITY PLANNING COMMISSION

208 Coleman A. Young Municipal Center Detroit, Michigan 48226 Phone: (313) 224-6225 Fax: (313) 224-4336

e-mail: cpc@detroitmi.go

February 14, 2024

Kenneth R. Daniels David Esparza, AIA, LEED Ritchie Harrison Lauren Hood, MCD Gwen Lewis Frederick E. Russell, Jr. Rachel M. Udabe

## HONORABLE CITY COUNCIL

## **RE:** Expiration of terms and vacancies on the City Planning Commission (STATUS REPORT )

The terms of appointment for three City Planning Commissioners, Kenneth Daniels, Gwen Lewis and Frederick Russell expire today, February 14, 2024. In accordance with state and local provisions Commissioners continue to serve until replaced. All three are respectfully seeking reappointment and the respective nominateing Council Members have been informed and will initiat the desired action. The resumes of each of the three commissioners are attached for the Council's information.

There is also a newly created vacancy on the Commission. Unfortunately, Lauren Hood, who held an at-large seat as the nominee of Council Member Young, is no longer able to serve, and recently announced her resignation from the Commission. Member Young has also been informed.

The chart below is provided for your reference depicting the terms of all currently seated Commissioners and the vacant seat as well.

Commissioner	District	Term	Seeking Reappointment
Donovan Smith Chairperson	2	2023 – 2026	
Melanie Markowicz Vice Chair/Secretary	5	2022 – 2025	
Rachel M. Udabe	At-large (Waters) Resides in 4	2022 - 2025	
Kenneth R. Daniels	3	2021 - 2024	Yes
Vacant (Resigned)	At-large (Young)	2022 - 2025	(Vacant)
David Esparza, AIA, LEED	6	2023 - 2026	
Gwen Lewis	7	2021 - 2024	Yes
Frederick E. Russell, Jr.	1	2021 - 2024	Yes
Ritchie Harrison	4	2023 - 2026	

Respectfully submitted,

Marcell R. Todd, Jr., Director

Marvel R. LMJ.

cc: Conrad Mallett, Corporation Counsel Antoine Bryant, Director, P&DD