Lauren Hood, MCD Chairperson Donovan Smith Vice Chair/Secretary

Marcell R. Todd, Jr. Director

City of Detroit

CITY PLANNING COMMISSION 208 Coleman A. Young Municipal Center Detroit, Michigan 48226 Phone: (313) 224-6225 Fax: (313) 224-4336 e-mail: cpc@detroitmi.gov Kenneth R. Daniels David Esparza, AIA, LEED Ritchie Harrison Gwen Lewis Melanie Markowicz Frederick E. Russell, Jr. Rachel M. Udabe

July 21, 2023

HONORABLE CITY COUNCIL

RE: Newly elected officers of the City Planning Commission.

It is with great pleasure that we inform your Honorable Body of the newly elected officers of the City Planning Commission (CPC). On Thursday, July 20, 2023 the CPC held its election of officers and elevated Vice Chair/Secretary Donovan Smith (District 2, Council Member Calloway) to the office of Chair, and Commissioner Melanie Markowicz (District 5, Council President Sheffield) to the office of Vice Chair/Secretary. Their one-year terms will begin in September, upon the Commission's return from recess.

Outgoing CPC Chair, Lauren Hood (At-large, Council Member Young II), elected not to seek another term as chair in order to devote that energy to co-chairing City Council's Reparations Task Force along with Keith Williams. Hood will continue to serve the CPC as a commissioner.

Respectfully submitted,

Marvel R. P.M. J.

Marcell R. Todd, Jr., Director

cc: Antoine Bryant, Director, PDD David Bell, Director, BSEED Conrad Mallett, Corporation Counsel Bruce Goldman, Law Department Daniel Arking, Law Department Stephanie Washington, Mayor's COS Malik Washington, Mayor's Office