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Auto Insurance Reform

How to Save the Most Starting July 2nd

Mayor Mike Duggan — Thursday, June 18, 2020



Send us your auto insurance questions!

By TEXT: 313-710-9175
*On the web:
https://detroitmi.gov/autoinsurancequestions




October 6, 1972 Michigan Legislature Passed No-Fault on
Promise of Lower Rates, Fewer Lawsuits
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Thirty Cents

Action Line

Dial 222-6464

Action Line solves problems, gets answers, cuts
red tape, stands up for your rights, Write
Action Line, Box 881, Detroit, Mich. 48231.
Or dial 222.6464 between 8:30 a.m, and 4:30
p.m. Monday through Friday,

=

'wo Saturdays ago we took our children for a ride through a

e forest near our home in Afton. We came on a racing car

 had crashed into a tree. A man with a crash helmet told us |

e careful because 45 more cars were coming through at 90 to |
miles an hour. Can you find out what's going on and put an
to it?—R.B., Afton.

Race was legal, though some of the drivers weren't. What
saw was a rally called Press On Regardless, Drivers are |
10 use public roads, not to speed. Rally officials said they're
ning an endurance race, not a speed race, and contestants
ght going over lawful limits get a 30 minute penalty. State |
ce weren't called soon enough last time. onlv nabbed a |

Vo-Fault Could Lower Rales

BY TRUDY LIEBERMAN
Frea Press Consumer Writer
When the state's new no-fault auto insurance law goes into
effect next October, you probably will pay less for your car
insurance.
That wasn't why no-fault was designed, and there are still
many people who don't believe premium reductions really wil

One exotic provision of the no-fault bill will pay the injured
person up to 520 a day for three years for maid service.

|
come about, But projected rates compiled and newly rel d
by the Michigan Insurance Bureau indicate that millions of
Michigan drivers could feel some premium relief.
The figures and explanations of various no-fault provisions
were made available to the Free Press by Deputy Insurance
Commissioner Robert Rowe.

THE MAIN REASON for the reduction is that under the no-
fault bill passed by the Legislature Friday, the amount of
medical and disability benefits paid to you through no-fauit
auto insurance will depend on the amount of benefits you re-
ceive from other medical and disability coverage.

The more you collect from other insurance, the less you'll
need from your no-fault policy, and so the smaller will be your

‘ no-fault premium.

For example, a married couple in the 30-84 age bracket who
drive to work in a three-year-old Buick Le Sabre and earn $200
a week might pay $117 for a minimum coverage no-fault policy.

If they choose to deduct their Blue Cross coverage, they
could get their car insurance for perhaps $20 less. Furthermore,
if the man is covered by some group disability insurance at
work, he will get another few more dollars knocked off his auto
premium.

One exotic provision of the no-fault law will pay the injured
person up to $20 a day for three years for maid service. But if
you choose not to buy this coverage, you could save even more
money. .

This is the first time that automobile insurance has been
co-ordinated with other forms of insurance. And supporters
of no-fault believe that this co-ordination will eliminate over-
lapping benefits and premiums. But because the law is so new,
no one is exactly sure how much of a saving people will
realize.

Insurance companies may devise other kinds of deductibles
$0 you can get cheaper insurance. But no one knows what these
will be,

The amount of auto premiums yon will pay also will depend
partly on how much income you have. You will buy insurance
to compensate for your lost wages if you are injured and can’t
work.

So the lowest premiums for lost-wage insurance will be for
those who are in low-income groups. And, as before, there will
be smaller premiums for those who have low value cars

Young, single drivers who now pay the most for insurance
probably will save the most money under no-fault, .for many
will not have to buy coverage to supply death benefits to de
pendents as a man supporting a family would have to do, In

Please turn to Page 8A, Col. |
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As We See It

Better Protection for All
Under No-Fault Insurance

SOME OF THE QUESTIONS raised
in the Michigan Trial Lawyers suit to stop
no-fault auto insurance are valid, but most
are not new, There will be problems with

no-fault, but fewer than with the present’

tort lisbility system of auto insurance.

The suit alleges that Michigan's no-fault
law, due to take effect Oct. 1, discrimi-
nates against poor people because it re-
quires them to buy insurance in order to
continue driving legally.

And no-fault does discriminate against

the poor — just as everything else that
costs money discriminates against the
poor.
But the new Michigan law will have the
advantage of keeping middie-income acci-
dent victims from becoming poor, and will
keep some poor accident victims from be-
ing doomed to a life of poverty.

Too many Michigan drivers are present-
ly either uninsured or underinsured. They
save money as long as they stay out of
accidents, but many have found that acci-
dents do not always happen to the other
guy.

About 325000 drivers pay the $45 un-
insured motorists fee. some thinking the

number of accidents involving uninsure(
drivers who elected to pay the damage
before a claim could be filed with th
wtate.

Insured motorists, too, can suffer greal
financial hardships after being Involved
in serious accidents, At present, the delay
often last years while lawyers for th
parties involved in an accident battle it
and out of court. Sometimes no determin
ation of fault can be made, and the victimy
are left to suffer on their own. |

Under no-fault there will be no lengthy
negotiations or court cases to find fault
and the victim's company will be required
to make prompt payment.

The fault-finding process is an expen:
sive one, and despite Michigan Trial Law.
yers president Harry Philo's statement
that lawyers will do better for the firm
10-12 years with the no-fault law, the
lawyers have been doing quite well undet
the tort Hability system,

Self-interest has never strayed far from
the lawyers' hearts, and we doubt that they
would do nearly as well under no-fault
with lawsuits limited to the most severe
accidents,

Typical Editorial of the Day:

“17% of all lawsuits are auto accidents,
clogging up the courts.”

“Under no-fault there will be no lengthy
negotiations or court cases to find fault...
Lawsuits will be limited to the most
severe accidents.”

“Young, single drivers will save the most
money under no-fault.”



The result has been far different:
Michigan has had highest costs in U.S. for 7 straight years

Michigan has the highest car insurance Why Detroit is the most expensive

rates in the country, report says city in America to buy car
insurance

Posted: 1111 AM. Feb 11,2019 Updated: 11206 AM, Feb11. 2019

It has more to do with bad state policy than crime

ASK Mike Duggan, the mayor of Detroit, what keeps him up at night and he
replies. without a second’s hes:tat:on. “car insurance”. For those tamiliar with the
city's precarious hinances, bad scheols and dlighted neighbeourhoods, this might
scem a strange answer. But cven among this throng of flashy ailments, Detroit’s
car insurance prob.em looks egregious. The average cost of insurance premiums
in the city is 85,414 per year, more than
times the national average. For the typi

twice the state average and nearly four

1 Detroit household, making $26,300 a
year, this would represent 21% of pre-tax income. Cars are an inescapadle
necessity in Motor City, a 140-square-mile expanse lacking robust public
transportation. Residents therefore flout the law by registering their policies at
costs less than half whar it does

addresses outside the city, wheare insuran

inside, or by driving without any insurance at all. Good numbers are




The 1972 law failed to control costs for one reason:
No one anticipated the explosion in medical costs

In 1972, medical bills made up only 6% of total auto insurance
costs. The debate had almost no discussion of medical bills.

In 1972, if you got in a car accident, your medical bills were
paid by your own health care:

Employer Health Care Medicare
Medicaid VA

300,000 drivers without health care coverage paid $45 into the
uninsured motorist fund.



Affordable No Fault is about one thing:
Reducing Michigan’s cost of medical coverage

In 1972, medical bills made up 6% of your total car
insurance premium.

In 2020, medical bills average 42% of your premium.

Michigan’s car insurance rates are the highest in America

because for 48 years we have been forced to buy the
most costly medical coverage in order to drive.



It’s been a 5 year fight in Lansing
to reduce Detroit’s car insurance rates

2015 Introduced D-Insurance to let Detroit start our own
auto insurance company.
Died on Senate Floor.

2017 Introduced Driver’s Choice: Guaranteed 20% rate cut
for everyone in Michigan.
Defeated on House Floor.

2018 Sued the State of Michigan in federal court for
unconstitutional excessive insurance rates.
We finally got Lansing’s attention



On July 2", No Fault Reform Law takes effect
For first time in 48 years, you have choice.




The new law takes effect July 2nd

So do you automatically
get a rate cut July 2nd?

No. Not if you don’t act.



2020 Average Cost to Insure a Car

Here Today is Ridiculous

Detroit
Michigan
lllinois
Indiana

Wisconsin
Ohio

$4400
$2878
$1434
$1213

$1049
$1034

Source: Insure.com



The Reason for the difference?

Michigan is the only state that requires you to buy
unlimited medical coverage with your car insurance —
even if you already have your own health insurance

Detroit
Michigan
lllinois
Indiana
Wisconsin
Ohio

$4400
$2878
$1434
$1213
$1049
$1034

Source: Insure.com



There are two places on your bill requiring you to
buy medical coverage for you: PIP and MCCA

PIP is Personal Injury Protection. It pays for your medical
bills if you are injured in a car accident.

MCCA is the Michigan Catastrophic Claims Association.
It pays for your medical bills in a catastrophic accident if
the bills run over $580,000.

For more than 40 years, Michigan drivers have been
required to buy both, even if you already had health care.



In most states there is no requirement to buy
medical coverage with your car insurance

In those states, if you already have health insurance,
you use your own insurance. You don’t have to pay

for it a second time.

Why should a senior covered by Medicare have to
buy medical coverage with their car insurance?



12 states require PIP —
To buy medical coverage with your car insurance

Michigan UNLIMITED
New York S 50,000
North Dakota S 30,000
Minnesota S 20,000
New Jersey S 15,000
Florida S 10,000
Hawaii S 10,000
Kentucky S 10,000
Massachusetts S 8,000
Pennsylvania S 5,000
Kansas S 4,500

Utah S 3,000



That’s Not Worst Part of the Medical Expenses
The 1972 No Fault Law Let Doctors and Hospitals Charge

Whatever They Want
Commercial
Medicare Insurance No Fault
1 Hr. Phys Therapy $ 31 $ 42 $ 79
CT Scan $262 S419 $1,821

MRI $484 $770 $3,259



When the lawyers figured it out, they filed thousands of
cases, especially in Detroit, to get a share of medical bills.

That drove no fault rates even higher

NJURED:
I J i Accident?
£? Truck Accident? Motorcycle Accidert




What we have is a tale of two Michigans

Those who can afford it, have the most expensive and
comprehensive coverage for car accidents in the U.S.

More than 20% of Michigan drivers have no car
insurance because they can’t afford it. They get no
medical coverage whatever if they’'re in an accident.

Michigan has criminalized 20% of our drivers who
need a car and can’t afford insurance.

Source: Carinsurance.com



Ve

Vehicle Identification Number
Vehicle Rated Address
Assigned Driver

Other Named Insured(s)
Titleholder

Vehicle Usage

Vehicle Lease/ Purchase Date
Additional Discounts

Coverages

Bodily Injury Liability
Property Damage Liability:

Property Protection:
Personal Injury Protection

Uninsured Motorists:
Underinsured Matorists:
Comprehensive:
Collision:

Enhanced Exterior Repair Option:

Car Rental
Loan/Lease Gap:
Extra Equipment
Broadened Other Car:

Premium Sub-Total

Assessments:

Total Vehicle Premium and Assessments

licle information

A Detroit Driver with a good driving
record for a 2015 Ford Focus

2015 Ford Focus 4d

IFADP3F27F L@@

SVBOBSOOP: . DETROIT Mi 482242558
[ ]

00000

Drive To Work/School. 3 - 9 Miles One Way, Less Than 10,000 Miles Per Year

AUG 1, 2018

ANTI-THEFT - PASSIVE, VEHICLE SAFETY - £ WHEEL STANDARD DRIVER & PASSENGER

2015 Ford Focus 4d

Limits of Liability

$100,000 Each Person / $300,000 Each Accident
$100,000 Each Accident

Includes Mi Limited Property Damage Liability
Included

$300 Deductible

MedIcal Beneflts: CoordInated

Work Loss Benefits: Primary

Survivars' Loss Beneflts

$100,000 Each Person / $300,000 Each Accident
$100,000 Each Person / $300,000 Each Accident
$500 Deductible

Basic: $500 Deductible

$50 Per Day [ $1,500 Maximum

MCCA:
OTHER STATUTORY ASSESSMENTS:

-M

Premium
$125.04
S14.27

$14.52
$1149.02

$19.80

S1e.7
$191.86
$590.76

Not Included
$78.27

Not Included
Not Included
Not Included

$2,200.05

$2,330.80

6 Month Cost:

Full Year Cost:

$2,331

$4,662



What makes up the bill?

0TS FOTQ FOCUS 40

Coverages
Limits of Liability Premium

Bodily Injury Liability: $100,000 Each Person | $300,000 Each Accident 5125.04

Property Damage Liability: $100,000 Each Accident S14.27
Includes Mi Limited Property Damage Liability

Property Protection: Included $1452

Personal Injury Protection: §300 Deductlble §1149.02

Medical Benefits: Coordinated
Work Loss Benefits: Primary
Survivors' Loss Beneflts

Uninsured Motorists: 00 000 Each Darcan 16200 AAN §19.80
Underiy 100,000 Each Person 1 $300,000 Each Acclde §16.71

¢ $500 Deductible U108
Collision: Basic: $500 Deductible $590.7

xterior Repair Option: ]
S78.27

Car Rental: \

Loan/Lease Gap: Not Included

Extra Equipment: Not Included

Broadened Other Car: Not Incluced

Premium Sub-Total §2,200.05

Assessments: MCCA: §10.00
OTHER STATUTORY ASSESSMENTS: $2075

Total Vehicle Premium and Assessments $2.330.80

Total 6 Mo. Cost: $2,331

Collision

$ 591

26%



Comprehensive (Theft) Makes Up Only 9%

- TOTS FOTQ FOCUS 40
|
Limits of Liability

Bodily Injury Liability: $100,000 Each Person | $300,000 Each Accident

Property Damage Liability: §100,000 Each Accident

Includes Mi Limited Property Damage Liability
Property Protection: Included
Personal Injury Protection: $300 Deductible

Medical Benefits: Coordinated
Work Loss Benefits: Primary
Survivors' Loss Benefits

Uninsured Mofore 5 Pe
sured Motorists. §100,000 Each Pers
Comprenensive: §500 Deductible

Basic: $500 Deductible

on/ $300,000 Each Accldent

Enhanced Exterior o
Car Rental: §50 Per Day / $1,500 Maximum
LoaniLease Gap.

Extra Equipment;

Broadened Other Car:

Premium Sub-Total

Assessments: MCCA:
OTHER STATUTORY ASSESSMENTS:

Total Vehicle Premium and Assessments

0VErages

Premium

§125.04
S14.27

§1452
§1149.02

519,80
519166

Not Included

§18.7
Not Included
Not Included
Not Included

$2,200.05

$110.00
52075

$2.330.80

Total 6 Mo. Cost: $2,331

Collision S 591 26%

Comp. (Theft) S 192 9%



Total Non-Medical Part of Bill is $1,071

Property Protection:

Uninsured Motorists:

Underinsured Motorists:
Comprenensive:
Collsion:

ar Rental:

Extra Equipment;
Broadened Other Car:

Premium Sub-Total

Assessments:

Personal Injury Protection:

ated Exterior Repair Option:

T0T FOa FOCTS 40

imits of Liability

SIOU 000 Each Accident

$100,000 Each Person | $300,000 Each Accident

Included §1452

§300 Deductible §149.02

Medical Benefits: Coordinated

Work Loss Benefits: Primary

Survivors' Loss Beneflts

$100,000 Each Person [ $300,000 Each Accident §19.80

§100,000 Each Person | $300,000 Each Accldent q6n
514166

3500 Deductible

§50 Per Day / $1.500 Maximum

MCCA:
OTHER STATUTORY ASSESSMENTS: 52075

$2.330.80

Total Vehicle Premium and Assessments

Not Included
Not Included

§2,200.05

31000

Total 6 Mo. Cost: $2,331

Collision S 591

Comp. (Theft) $ 192
Passengers/Other S 257

Total Non-Medical $1,071

26%

9%

11%

46%



54% of the Bill is for Medical Expenses —
PIP and MCCA - that’s $1,249

0TS FOTa FOCUS 40

COVETAORS e
g Limits of Liability Premium TOtaI 6 MO- COSt: $2,331
Bodily Injury Liahility $100,000 Each Person / $300,000 Each Accident §125.04

Property Damage Liability: $100,000 Each Accident S1427

Collision S 591 26%

Included
$300 Deductible $1149.02
Medical Benefits: Coordinated
Nork Loss Benefits: Primar

Uninsured Motorists: 5:10r;, Each Psn | $300,000 Each Accident S19.80 Co m p b (Th Eft) $ 1 9 2 9%

4 vtection:
Personal Injury Protection:

Underinsured Motorists: $100,000 Each Person / $300,000 Each Accldent SI6.M
Comprenensive: $500 Deductible 519166
Collision: Basic: $500 Deductible $590.76
Enhanced Exterior Repair Option: Not Included
Car Rental: o $50 Per Day / §1,500 Maximum 1821 Pa SSE nge rS/Other $ 257 1 1%
Loan/Lease Gap: Not Included
Extra Equipment: Not Included
Broadened Other Car: Not Included

PIP/Medical $1,149 49%

Premium Subale 00.05
Assessments: MCCA: §110.00
OTHER STATUTORY ASSESSMENTS: A

Total Vehicle Premium and Assessments $2.330.80

MCCA/Medical S 110 5%




For the first time since 1972, starting July 2"9, you
have the right to decide on your medical coverage

1) You can keep your existing unlimited PIP policy.

2) You can “opt out” of PIP entirely if you and your
household already have your own qualified health
coverage.

3) You can buy reduced PIP at $500,000 or $250,000.



Reducing or opting out of PIP only means opting
out of PIP medical benefits.

PIP actually has three pieces:
1) Medical
2) Wages for work loss (85% of gross pay)
3) Survivors loss benefits (for 3 years)

Under the new No Fault regulations, opting out of PIP
only means opting out of the medical benefit.

You still keep the work loss and survivors benefit.



You have the right to change your coverage and
your insurance company July 2"

Even if you have renewed for 6 months, you have a
right to cancel the expensive coverage immediately

July 2" and switch to new coverage.

Don’t let your insurance company or your agent tell
you that you have to wait until your renewal. You can
act now.



Option 1: Keeping your existing coverage

The new No Fault Law does little to cut insurance rates.

What the No Fault Law does is give you choice for the

first time in 48 years. If you like your existing coverage,
you don’t need to do anything.

If you keep your existing coverage, your overall
insurance bill may go up or down slightly.



If you want to change, you may have to demand it.
You should shop around for quotes.

If you choose to change, in many cases:

1) Insurance companies make less
2) Your insurance agent makes less
3) Doctors and hospitals make less
4) Some trial lawyers make less.



Who has the right to “opt out” of buying medical
coverage from car insurance company?

Anyone who already has a health plan that is
“qualified health coverage”

What’s “qualified health coverage”?

Two major criteria:

1) Your health care covers car accidents
2) Your health care deductibles are under $6,000



Under the new law, what plans could be
“qualified health coverage”?

1) Medicare Part A and B (93% recipients have both)

2) Employer Plans
3) Obamacare/Exchange/Other Plans
4) Veterans Administration?

Medicaid does not count as qualified health coverage
To opt out, you need to provide documentation
to car insurance company that you have
qualified medical coverage



If you’re on Medicare Part A and B, you can opt
out by giving your car insurance company a copy
of your Medicare enrollment card

" ¢ MEDICARE HEALTH INSURANCE
o

Name'Nombre

JOHN L SMITH

Medicare Nember/Name

1EG4-TES- MK72

Entitled to/Con cerecho a Coverage starts/Cobartura empieza

PART A 03-03-2016
PART B 03-03-2016




You’'re covered by health care at work.
How do you “opt out”?

You need a letter that you’re in a qualified health plan.

Self-insured plans: get letter from your employer

Usually large employers several thousand employees
Usually Blue Cross Traditional or PPO’s

Fully-insured plan: get letter from your insurance company

Most small and medium companies that offer HMO’s.
Usually Blue Care Network, HAP, Priority, Meridian, other HMO’s
Your employer should give you a contact at your insurance company.



8,000 full-time City of Detroit Employees are all
in a qualified health plan

Human Resources

In the City Blue Cross PPO?

June 15, 2020
City Employee

2 Woodward Avenue

Detroit, M1 48226

Dear Mr./Mrs. City of Detroit Employee:

A letter was sent to your

This notice provides verification of your current qualified health insurance coverage. We encourage you to
keep this letter for future reference.

[ ] The health insurance coverage provided toyou and eligible individuals by the City of Detroit is “qualified heakh
coverage” as defined in MCL 500.3107d(7)(b)(i) for purposes of the Michigan Auto No Fault Law that takes
effectonuly2, 2020. Your qualified health coverage does not exclude or limit coverage for motor vehicle
accidents and has an annual deductible of $6,000 or less per covered individual.

Below will provide verification of your qualified heafth insurance coverage with the City of Detroit:

information you need ifyou =

Carrier: BCBSM Community Blue PPO Group No.: 007000988

[ ]
C t t t subscriber: City Employee
e I e o o p o u [ ] Coverage: Medical/Hospitalization/Prescription Drug

Full Name(s) and Date(s) of Birth of all Individuals Covered on Policy:
City Employee 6/18/1970

This Benefits summary can be presented to your automobile insurance carrier as proof of your healthcare
coverage.

Sincerely,

Benefits Administrotion Office



City of Detroit employees in the
Blue Care Network or HAP Plans?

For Blue Care Network .
Call BCN 877-354-2583

June 15, 2020

City of Detroit Employee
2 Woodward Avenue
Detroit, M1 48226

F o r H A P Dear Mr./Mrs. City of Detroit Employee:
Important Information about Your Benefits

‘ a I I 8 0 0 -4 ! ! - 4 64 I The health insurance coverage provided toyou and eligible individuals by the City of Detroit is “qualified
health coverage” as defined in MCL 500.3107d(7)(b)(i) for purposes of the Michigan Auto No Fault Law

that takes effect on July 2, 2020. Your qualified health coverage does not exclude or limit coverage for
motor vehicle accidents and has an annual deductible of $6,000 or less per covered individual.

If youare interested in changing your auto insurance coverage, youmay need additional documentation
fromyour health insurance provider with your specific policy information.

Yo u r h E a It h i n S u r E r Wi I I Please reach out to your health insurance provider at the numbers below to obtain these documents:
Blue Care Network at (800) 662-6667

We encourage you to keep this letter for future reference.

send you letter for your

Benefity Administration Office

car insurance company.



Private companies:
Make it just as easy for your employees

Employees in your company’s self-insured plan:

Send them a letter directly.

Employees in your company’s fully insured plans (HMOQO’s):

Provide them direct contact info at insurance company to
quickly get their verification of qualified health coverage.



For private companies, we’ve made it easy:
www.detroitmi.gov/autoinsurance

No Fault Employer Packet

CITY OF

DETROIT

EMPLOYERS:
HELP YOUR EMPLOYEES REALIZE SAVINGS!

Starting July 2, there is a change in Michigan’s Auto-No Fault Law

In the past, Detroiters had to purchase expensive, unlimited, one size fits all coverage. Now for the
first time in 40 years, people will be able to choose the level of coverage that works best for them
and their families. Everyone can save but the biggest savings will come to those who have health
insurance that covers auto related accidents!

www.detroitmi.gov/autoinsurance



What if an individual bought health insurance on the
exchange or bought it directly from the company?

Contact your health insurance company directly.

If you are covered for car accidents and have less than
$6,000 deductible, it is likely qualified health coverage.

Get the letter directly from your health insurer and give
it to your car insurance company to opt out.



If your health care is covered by the Veterans
Administration, you should be able to opt out by
sending a copy of your VA enrollment card

Unfortunately, the Michigan Insurance Commissioner has
not yet decided whether VA is qualified health plan -
Hopefully will make that decision by July 29,

Member ID Card Expires: 001000000 ||
1234567890 . VA HEALTHCARE ENROLLEE
Plan 1D (80840 e o SERVICE CONNECTED
1234 567) 890 * \.,’/ MEDAL OF HONOR
L N J ®  PURPLE HEART

Member U.S. AIR FORCE FORMER POW

JANE D SAMPLE

01000 R




With opting out, there’s a catch:

Every relative living in your household must have
health insurance for car accidents.

A relative in your house might ride in your car.

You can’t have a complete opt out unless every relative
who lives with you also has health care.

They can have health care for accidents one of two ways:

1) Qualified health coverage
2) Have their own No Fault PIP policy

If you live alone it’s easy. It’s just you.



Scenarios with other people in your household

1) You are on Medicare. You live with your husband. Your husband
gets his health care from his company with qualified health plan.

You can get 100% opt out from PIP Medical and MCCA.

2) You are on Medicare and live with your daughter.
She works as a waitress, doesn’t have health care.

But she does have her own no fault car insurance policy.
You can get 100% opt out from PIP Medical and MCCA.

3) You live with your daughter and a nephew. You and daughter
work for City of Detroit with qualified employer health care.

Nephew is on Medicaid and does not have his own car insurance.

You cannot opt out. You must buy PIP Medical.



Every relative in my household has qualified
health coverage or their own car insurance

I’m eligible to opt out.

How much savings do | get?

You will pay no PIP and no MCCA.

Your total car insurance bill
will probably drop 30-50%.



Remember our Ford Focus bill?
Opt out would cut the bill 54%

20T FOTd FOCUS 4d
LOVEIA(ES  vrvrrvvvrnnn v v
Limits of Liability Premium
Bodily Injury Liability §100,000 Each Person | $300,000 Each Accident 512504
Property Damage Liability: $100,000 Each Accident S1427
Includes Mi Limited Property Damage Liability
Property Protection: Included 51452
pG,Ag na 1‘ el g‘“ﬁm\‘ s'lgn g“ G't be ﬂ]lm_m
Medical Benefits: Coordinated
Work Loss Benefits: Primary
Survivors’ Loss Benefits
Uninsured Motorists: $100,000 Each Person / $300,000 Each Accident $19.80
Underinsured Motorists. $100,000 Each Person / $300,000 Each Accldent §I6.7
Comprehensive: $500 Deductible $19166
Collision: Basic: $500 Deductible $590.78
Enhanced Exterior Repair Option: Not Included
Car Rental: $50 Per Day / $1,500 Maximum §78.27
Loan/Lease Gap: Not Included
Extra Equipment: Not Included
Broadened Other Car: Not Included
Premium Sub-Total $2,200.05
[~ S STSSITEtST MeChT ST
OTHER STATUTORY ASSESSMENTS: 52075
Total Vehicle Premium and Assessments =2320:88

$1,054

$1,054
Total 6 Mo. Cost: $2;331

Collision S 591 26%

Comp. (Theft) S 192 9%
Passengers/Other S 257 11%

) 0

-MECA/ Medical—S—3110—5%-



The question for Michigan Drivers:

Do you want car insurance rates similar to other states in
exchange for medical coverage similar to other states?

Average Cost to Insure a Car

Detroit
Michigan
lllinois

Indiana

Wisconsin
Ohio

$4400
$2878
$1434

$1213
$1049
$1034

Source: Insure.com



On July 2"d there are more improvements.
Insurance Companies can no longer use these
non-driving factors in setting your rates:

Gender

Marital Status
Home Ownership
Educational Level
Occupation
Credit Score



What if you can’t opt out?
What if you don’t want to opt out?

Option 3: You don’t have to buy unlimited PIP.
You now may choice to buy less coverage.

July 2", you have two choices
you never had before:

1) $500,000 No Fault Coverage
2) $250,000 No Fault Coverage



States with highest requirements for No Fault PIP Coverage

Michigan UNLIMITED
Michigan $500,000
Michigan $250,000
New York S 50,000
North Dakota S 30,000
Minnesota S 40,000
New Jersey S 15,000
Florida S 10,000
Hawaii S 10,000
Kentucky S 10,000
Massachusetts S 8,000
Pennsylvania S 5,000
Kansas S 4,500
Utah S 3,000



Buying the $500,000 or $250,000 PIP option will likely
be some savings, maybe $300-500.

It won’t be greater savings, because doctors and hospitals
can still charge whatever they want.

Commercial

Medicare Insurance No Fault

S 42 $ 79

1 Hr. Phys Therapy 9 31

$262 $419 $1,821

CT Scan

$484 $770 $3,259

MRI



In a year —on July 1, 2021 - there will be more savings

The fees you’re charged will be cut to 230% of Medicare

Commercial July 2021
Medicare Insurance  No Fault Fees
1 Hr. PT $ 31 > 42 > 79 > 71
CT Scan $262 S419 $1,821 S 603
$484 $770 $3,259 $1,113

MRI



What if you are on Medicaid?

This is biggest oversight in new No Fault law.

You cannot opt out of buying PIP coverage. State law
says Medicaid is not “qualified health coverage”

Medicaid recipients can buy a cheaper PIP Plan — one
that covers you for $50,000.

It may save you $500-600 a year.



To the 8,000 Detroit Employees:
Here’s What the City of Detroit is Doing

Every employee has been sent a letter detailing
your city health care and telling you how to opt
out if you want.

In addition, the details are available on the City
website at detroitmi.gov.



Thank you to the 7 Detroit State Representatives
who voted to pass House Bill 4397

r r |

State Rep. Wendell Byrd State Rep Leslie Love State Rep. Joe Tate State Rep. Karen Whitsett

1

State Rep. Tenisha Yancey State Rep. Tyrone Carter  State Rep Latonya Garrett



And thanks to all 5 Detroit State Senators who
fought for the No Fault Reform Bill !

Sen. Sylvia Sen. Adam

. Sen. Marshall
Santana Hollier

Bullock

Sen. Stephanie Sen. Betty Jean
Chang Alexander



What Can You Do?

Shop around. Compare rates. They will vary greatly.
Talk to different agents.
And when you find a good agent or good company,

share their contacts with your friends, on Nextdoor or
on social media.



Questions for our panel

Mark Bernstein, Shereen Silver Leroy Mattic
Bernstein Law Firm Bernstein Law Firm AAA



Send us your auto insurance questions!

*By TEXT: 313-710-9175
°*On the web:
https://detroitmi.gov/autoinsurancequestions




